13th International
SoC Design Conference

October 23 ~ 26, 2016
Ramada Plaza Jeju Hotel, Jeju Korea

Jeju, Korea

Welcome to Jeju!

Jeju Province is one of the nine provinces of South Korea. The province is situated on and coterminous with the nation's largest island of Jeju (also Jejudo), formerly transliterated as Cheju, Cheju Do, etc., or known as Quelpart to Europeans. The island lies in the Korea Strait, southwest of South Jeolla Province, of which it was a part before it became a separate province in 1946. Its capital is Jeju City.

Tourism commands a large fraction of Jeju's economy. Jeju's temperate climate, natural scenery, and beaches make it a popular tourist destination for South Koreans as well as visitors from other parts of East Asia. The most popular tourist spots on the island are Cheonjeyeon and Cheonjiyeon waterfalls, Mount Halla, Hyeobje cave, and Hyeongje island. There is a variety of leisure sports that tourists can take part in Jeju including golf, horse riding, hunting, fishing, mountain climbing, etc. Depending on the season, Jeju hosts many festivals for tourists including a penguin swimming contest in winter, cherry blossom festival in spring, the midsummer night beach festival in summer, and Jeju horse festival in autumn, among others. For most tourists, traffic to and from the island is mainly taken through Jeju International Airport and transport within the island by rental cars. Some local products are popular with tourists, including Jeju's special tile fish and mandarin oranges, as well as souvenirs and duty-free shopping.

Jeju was chosen as one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature through the New 7 Wonders of Nature campaign by the New7Wonders Foundation. The campaign saw hundreds of millions of votes and the top seven wonders were announced on 11/11/11.


Jeju Special Self-Governing Province is an isolated island south-west of the mainland of Republic of Korea. It is located 154km from Mokpo, 304km from Busan, and 255.1km from Tsushima of Japan. To the east it is facing Tsushima and Nagasaki prefecture of Japan with the south sea and East China Sea in between. To the west, Jeju faces Shanghai, China with the East China Sea in between. To the south with the South China sea and to the north is the mainland of Republic of Korea with the South Sea in between.
Jeju Special Self-Governing Province’s location is southwest of Republic of Korea. Being placed in the center of Northeast Asia such as the mainland of Republic of Korea, China and Japan has given it a very important geopolitical location in the past. In 1275 (Empire of Goryeo), the Tamna general headquarters of Won was established here. For more than one century it was the headquarters of the conquering Japanese. In the last Pacific war, many military facilities were established here. During the Korean War, the first army training camp was set up here. This is the historical evidence of Jeju Special Self-Governing Province’s importance in location.


First place in the world to obtain UNESCO designations in all 3 natural sciences
Jeju Island is an oval-shaped volcanic island with 1,950 meter Hallasan Mountain in the middle. The island is 73 km from west to east and 31 km from north to south.
Jeju which was created by volcanic activity is known for its unique volcanic features, and the entire island itself is like a volcanic museum. There are 368 oreum on the island (※ oreum: It means ‘small mountain’ in Jeju dialect) and over 160 lava tubes are scattered on the island. It’s very rare to see a small island that has both oreum and caves in the world.
The value of Jeju was proved as the island received as the island was designated Biosphere Reserve in 2002, World Natural Heritage in 2007 and Global Geopark in 2010, making the sub-tropical island only place on Earth to receive all three UNESCO designations in natural sciences. Jeju has now become a ‘treasure island of environmental assets’ that the world has to preserve.